Our primary goal is client satisfaction. The basic values of our company are professionalism, trustworthiness and discretion. We respect the opinions and comments of all clients and we build long-term relations founded on trust.
Our management team
Head of Accounting Department
General Manager of Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel
Director of Sales & Marketing of Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel
History of the Carlton
The Hotel Carlton has a rich history behind it, just like the surroundings in which it is located.
For the residents of the city itself this is not merely a luxury hotel. It is a legend. It was here that Maria Theresa had a room arranged, or where Jules Verne scribbled notes on a new novel in the evenings. The Hotel Carlton tells its own tale, which doesn’t permit it to be buried in the dust of the past centuries and still today gives it a unique fairy tale atmosphere.
13th century - 1857
The history of the Carlton complex reaches back as far as the 13th century. In this period the tavern "U Labute" (At the Swan) stood on its site and later, from 1760, the travellers’ inn "U troch zelených stromov" (At the Three Green Trees) stood along its right-hand side. This offered guests not only accommodation but also stabling for their horses. It took its name from the broad green trees growing in its courtyard, and in this period it ranked among the most celebrated inns in the whole country. In 1838 Johann Löwy, the director of the first Hungarian Bratislava-Trnava railway line, bought the building and had it converted on the design of builder Ignác Feigler, Jr. Thus, from the original single-storey building the modern three-storey “U zeleného stromu” (At the Green Tree) hotel originated in 1844 to 1846, whose guests praised not only the comfortable rooms but also its advantageous location on the banks of the Danube.
1857 – 1912 „At the Green Tree“
In 1857 well-known wine trader Jakub Palugyay, who before then owned the hotel coffeehouse, took over the hotel. The Palugyay family operated the hotel under the name “U zeleného stromu” (At the Green Tree) until the owner’s death in 1912.
1860 – 1908 the „National“ hotel
From 1860 the hotel “U zeleného stromu” faced competition from the adjacent hotel “National”, which was located on Mostova ulica (Bridge Street) and offered its guests 27 rooms. The National was established by the Speneder family in 1860 and later converted on the design of architect Ignác Feigler. The hotel was changed into a varied, grandiose building with facades on Mostova ulica and on Hviezdoslavovo námestie. The well-known “Savoy” coffeehouse, located on the hotel’s ground floor, was a part of the building.
1908 Henrich Prüger, former manager of the Savoy hotel in London,
purchased the National hotel. In the years that followed he purchased
the adjacent Gervay house and after the death of Karol Palugyay also
the hotel “U zeleného stromu”. He then had all three buildings
converted, whereby the imposing Savoy-Carlton hotel complex, opened
in June 1913, originated. It got the name Carlton in honour of the
former owners Karl Palugyay (Carl) and his wife Antónia (nicknamed
Ton-ka). After initial experimental attempts, the first Elektro
Bioskop cinema operated from 1905 in the hotel salon. For thirty
hellers you could see up to a dozen short films in it. No
wonder, then, that it became so popular. In 1913 the cinema was moved
to a new building on Hviezdoslavovo námestie, where it still
exists today under the name Mladosť as the oldest cinema in